Two Strikes

Two stones were thrown at me today. Wake-up call to bring me back to reality… back to my real responsibilities and priorities.

First, I woke up this morning with a soreness in my throat, tiredness in my body, slight feverish feeling and a headache. I guess this is what I get after five days of stubbornly sleeping at two or three in the morning because I was so caught up tinkering with computer stuff. Sometimes I think I have an addiction to my computer. Something I should not allow to take hold of me. I was deaf to the screams and clamor of my body that it needed rest. It needed sleep. So today, I feel sick… (and you might think, “so what the hell are you doing in front of your computer? You should be lying down resting”. Hmmm, I’m thinking the same thing too as I write this. Yes, looks like I really have it bad!). Striiiiiiike 1!

Second, due to my busy-ness this whole week, somehow it slipped me that my eldest daughter was supposed to wear a Filipiniana costume to school today. Honestly, I really don’t know how I could have missed that. I didn’t see or read the note. I’m always so conscientious in checking on her assignments and upcoming activities, and reading the circular letters being sent. I have been deaf and now blind, with my mind too focused on the things I wanted to finish this week. So in a last-minute rush, I had to search and ingeniuosly come up with something she could wear as a costume. Luckily, I did and had to rush it to her school so she could change in time. I felt guilty though that I failed to prepare earlier what she needed today. Well, with the proper preparations, I know she could have worn something better. Striiiiiike 2!

Fortunately, I don’t have any strike 3. Not yet, at least, since the day isn’t over as of the time of this writing. But hopefully, there will be none!

2 Comments

Filed under Health & Living, Me, Myself and I, Parenting & Kids

2 responses to “Two Strikes

  1. got sick too the other week. mag 2 weeks na actually. nahaw ako sa flu, but i think it was my lack of rest (i sleep at 5am and wake up at 930) that made me vulnerable. til now im still recovering.

  2. hope you’re feeling better, light. as for me, i really made it a point to sleep so my body could recover. it was a good thing it didn’t get any worse. can’t afford to be sick…

Leave a Reply

