About Seventh Stranger

When I signed up for this blog, I was actually surprised that “7thstranger” was already taken. I guess I was absurdly thinking that I’m the only one in this world of billion bloggers who would want to use that name. Thus, I decided to use the longer version instead since it was available. I have been using “Seventh Stranger” as a pseudonym for as long as I can remember…

I was ten or eleven, a raging fan of a bygone (but not forgotten, for me at least) era of new wave 80’s music. I went gaga-crazy over bands like Duran Duran, Tears for Fears, Spandau Ballet, Power Station, Menudo (oh yes, cheesy as it is!), A-ha, The Cure, Culture Club. Hmmm, did I miss anything?

One day, a few weeks before our annual class Christmas party, we had our usual drawing of lots (or pieces of paper with codenames) for our usual “Manito Manita”. “Manito Manita” is a traditional Christmas game of exchanging gifts.

Each one had to write on a piece of paper a codename they like, roll the paper and drop it in a box or container. Then each one in the class took turns to pick one paper from the box. If it was your own, then you return it. If not, then that one would be your “manita” (if a girl) or “manito” (if a boy). However, sometimes it is hard to tell from the codenames being used.

Then for the next few weeks that followed, there would be a theme per week and we would be secretly giving a gift to our “manita” or “manito”. On the day of the Christmas party, we would then reveal our identities and have the final exchange of gifts.

And that was when I first thought of using “Seventh Stranger” as a codename. Of course, I couldn’t use it in the years that followed in that same school. But each time I transferred to a new school (yes, I’ve moved a couple of times but that’s a different story to tell), I would be using it on my first Christmas party.

From grade school to high school to college, the name has stuck with me. It has become a part of me. And as you can see, to this date, I’m still using it.

About “Seventh Stranger”

It is claimed as one of the best songs that Duran Duran has ever done under their “Seven and The Ragged Tiger” album in 1983. The title of the album was actually one of several songs they completed in 1983 but was never released. Eventually though, parts of that song evolved into the track “The Seventh Stranger”. For those not familiar with it, here it is…

Those words are all remainders
Echoes growing in the heart of twilight
They lay back laughing at naivety’s star
Awaken all those whispers in the dusty shadow of a passing favour
I wouldn’t say that you were ruthless or right
I couldn’t see from so far
Was I chasing after rainbows
One thing for sure you never answered when I called
And I wiped away the water from my face
To look through the eyes of a stranger
For rumours in the wake of such a lonely crowd
Trading in my shelter for danger
I’m changing my name just as the sun goes down
In the eyes of a stranger

Can’t tell the real from reflections
When all these faces look the same to me
In every city such a desolate dream
Some days are strange to number
some say the seventh sounds a little bit stranger
A year of Sundays seems to have drifted right by
(I could have sworn) in one evening
And I’m not seized in desperation
No steel reproaches on the table from before
But I still can feel those splinters of ice
I look through the eyes of a stranger
For rumours in the wake of such a lonely crowd
Trading in my shelter for danger
I’m changing my name just as the sun goes down
In the eyes of a stranger

I must be chasing after rainbows
One thing for sure you never answer when I call
And I wipe away the water from my face
To look through the eyes of a stranger
For rumour in the wake of such a lonely crowd
Trading in my shelter for danger
I’m changing my name just as the sun goes down
Walking away like a stranger
From rumours in the wake of such a lonely crowd
Trading in my shelter for danger
I’m changing my name just as the sun goes down
In the eyes of a stranger

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Entertainment World, Favorites, Me, Myself and I, Music and Videos

Leave a Reply

